cfaed Seminar Series

cfAED Seminar Series

Prof. Chengshan Xiao , Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, MO, USA

Optimal Linear Precoding for Finite Alphabet Signaling in wireless Systems and Networks

14.07.2014 (Monday) TU Dresden, Barkhausen Building, Room BAR II / 63a , Georg-Schumann-Str. 11 , 01187 Dresden


Professor Chengshan Xiao, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, MO, USA


Optimal linear precoding for finite alphabet signaling in wireless systems and networks


Finite alphabet signaling refers to commonly used discrete-constellation modulations in practical communication systems, such as PAM, PSK or QAM. In this talk, we will target at how to increase data rate or throughput via linear precoding in wireless systems and networks such as multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) systems, multiple access channels, broadcast channels, wiretap channels, and cognitive radio networks. We will present backgrounds, theoretical results, hardware implementation, and experimental results for maximizing the mutual information-based achievable data rate or throughput. Our results demonstrate that precoding for finite alphabet signaling can be radically different from the precoding (or power allocation) for Gaussian signaling. Our examples show that the finite-alphabet signaling-based approach provides not only higher achievable data rate but also lower coded bit error rate than the approaches that design the precoder with Gaussian input assumption. Further research topics will be discussed in this talk as well.


Chengshan Xiao is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, Missouri. His research interests include wireless communications, signal processing, and underwater acoustic communications. He is the holder of three U.S. patents. Tow of his algorithms had been implemented in Nortel's base station radios after successful field trials and network integration.

Dr. Xiao is an IEEE Fellow and a recipient of the Humboldt Research Award. He currently serves as the Director of Conference Publication of IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc), an Elected Board of Governor of IEEE ComSoc, a Member of IEEE ComSoc Fellow Evaluation Committee, and a Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. Previously, he served as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, the Technical Program Chair of the 2010 IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC), and the founding Chair of the IEEE Technical Committee on Wireless Communications.

Go back