Shrujan Kalkura - Master student of the OD Chair wins cfaed Scientific Image Competition 2016!

Published on

In fall 2016, cfaed carried out its first Cluster-wide Scientific Image Contest. 22 different researchers or teams participated and sent in around 60 images. At the General Assembly in December Prof. Fettweis revealed the winners and handed over the awards. Now we are happy to present the winning pictures on our website and in the social channels!

Congratulations to the winners of the cfaed Scientific Image Competition!


Here are the awarded images including short explanation:

1st place: Picture from a project on organic single crystal transistor by Shrujan Kalkura (Chair for Organic Devices)

2nd place: Results from the Bio-Path project l.5 by Lucas Wetzel, Josefine Asmus, Daniel Platz und Alexandros Pollakis (MPI-PKS, TU Dresden)

3rd place: SEM-images of sand by Markus Löffler and Alexander Tahn (Dresden Center for Nanoanalysis, DCN)


Recognition award: Julian Schütt (MBZ): Detection of Microfluidic nanofilter drops (with different analytes, e.g., bacteria, proteins or chemicals) by means of nanowire field effect transistors

Recognition award: Thomas Blaudeck (TUC): Thin metal layer on electron beam coating

Recognition award: Matthias Lieber (ZIH): Communication matrix of a parallel program running on 512 processor cores on (former) HPC system


Thank you all for your participating and hope to see your new results in future competitions :-)

Go back