From Science To Art!

Call for the Scientific Image Contest 2021! Submit your scientific pictures!

Friedrich Dürrenmatt, famous Swiss author and dramatist once said: "In science, there is the unity, in art the diversity of the mystery we call the world."

And that is indeed true. Science and art seem to be two highly complex, but fascinating counterparts. This contrast creates unimagined new perspectives on both scientific as well as artistic content.That is why we introduced the Scientific Image Contest that became a very successful and enlightening tradition in the past years.

This year again, we are looking for your inspiring images: the most beautiful scientific illustration, SEM-Image, photo or graphic – feel free to be creative and illustrate your work in your way – or take a snapshot of your amazing science!

The prizes for the best 3 submissions are: a standsome high-desk positioner …and a large-size printed version on aluminum of your picture.
A selection of the submitted images will be used in PR-materials. In addition, there is also the chance that the most beautiful images will be displayed in the cfaed building (BAR) and in an exhibition that will take place in fall.

Please upload your images here and send the accompanying information (see below) to christiane.kunath (at)
The submission deadline is 20-03-2021

Please note
• only hi-res images can be accepted – please upload/send the best quality you have
• your image(s) might be modified depending on the future use in PR-materials
• you agree to pass the picture credit to cfaed

When sending your image, please
• name the file as follows: year_affiliation_full-name_title-of-your-picture (Example: 2021_TUD_Julia-Smith_Wonderful-World)
• give information about the author (full name, group/institute)
• send a title (max. 4 words!) and a short description (max. 130 signs, 20 words), long description if necessary
• name the way how you took or modified the picture (illustration, photo)

Show us your creativity - We are looking for inspiring pictures of your work! 

A small selection of 2020 entries:

Pictures by: 1 - Darius Pohl, 2 - Anna Eichler-Volf, 3 - Felix Talnack, 4 - Fabian Goßler, 5 - Markus Löffler and Alexander Tahn, 6 - Vaibhav_Gupta, 7 - Maik Simon, 8 - Markus Löffler, 9 - Malte Schröder, 10 - Tim Kühne and Kwan Ho Au Yeung, 11 - Marco Salvalaglio